skip to content

The Faculty of Architecture and History of Art


The duties and powers of Faculty Boards are set out in University Statutes and Ordinances

The current membership of the Faculty Board of the Faculty of Architecture & History of Art is: 

  • Professor Caroline van Eck, Head of Dept. of History of Art (Chair)
  • Dr James Campbell, Head of Dept. of Architecture
  • Prof. K.A. Steemers
  • Prof. A. Short
  • Dr A. Mahon
  • Dr Y. Jin
  • Dr D. Cooper
  • Dr M. Sunikka-Blank
  • Dr A. Marr
  • Dr N.L. Simcik Arese
  • Dr F. E. Salmon
  • Dr M. Sternberg
  • The Director of the Fitzwilliam Museum
  • The Director of Kettle's Yard
  • The Director of the Hamilton Kerr Institute

[class (f) – student members]

  • V. Pupeza
  • M. Cooper-Clark
  • C. Paul Jordan

 Faculty Board and Degree Committee meeting dates:

  • 15 October 2019
  • 19 November 2019 (including Annual Meeting of the Faculty)
  • 21 January 2020
  • 10 March 2020
  • 19 May 2020
  • 30 June 2020

The Faculty’s Degree Committee has a number of formal responsibilities under Statutes and Ordinances, Chapter 6, including recommending the admission of Graduate Students, making arrangements for the supervision of their work and determining the award of the MPhil Degree and certain other qualifications, and recommending to the Board of Graduate Studies the award (or otherwise) of the PhD Degree. The constitution of the Degree Committee is the same as that of the Faculty Board without junior members.

A number of other bodies are established as committees of the Faculty Board: Research Committee; Resources Committee; Library Committee.

Faculty Selection Committees

Appointments to academic offices in the Faculty and its Departments are made by a Selection Committee constituted under University Special Ordinance C (x), following recruitment and selection arrangements determined by the School of Arts & Humanities –